Nick+Nora's Tiny House

This blog is about our progress, successes and struggles during our Tiny House build. I want to write about what the experience has really been like, what a Tiny House is, and why we chose to do it.

Our story gets published!

Interested in spreading awareness about tiny houses and the lack of codes and regulations in our area, I contacted a few local papers. Below is what I sent in to both papers, mostly a generalization of our story so far. I received emails very soon after from interviewers interested in writing about us. I was hesitant to contact these papers with our story, I knew this would also let people know about all of the technicalities and restrictions we are coming across to make this home legal to live in. The main reasons I want our story to spread is so that we can find a property owner to rent from and also have codes written and more specific guidelines put in place for tiny homes like ours. Click on the links directly below to read the articles!

Bainbridge Review Article

Kitsap Sun Article

Hello! My boyfriend and I have just finished building our own Tiny House on Bainbridge, we are in our 20’s with no previous experience and have hired only an electrician to help us out. Our house began as a decrepit trailer that we got for free through a free cycle group. I believe there are two other people on the island also building Tiny Houses but have not met them yet, and there may be more I’m unaware of. I would love to reach out to our community and make people aware of the local lack of affordable housing options as well as open their minds to the idea of Tiny Houses. My boyfriend Nick and I have just finished our home and have hit obstacles to begin the process of living in it. Since there are no codes made at City Hall regarding our type of home, this blurs many lines and makes things complicated. I have many photos of our entire process as well as a blog I will link below. We thought this might make an interesting story for our community to hear, please feel free to email or call me if you are interested in sharing our story.

-Nora Phillips

https://nicknoratinyhouse.wordpress.com

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 15, 2016 by .
